Pray For Barack Obama is a non-denominational ministry dedicated to lifting up President Barack H. Obama, his family, his cabinet and staffs in Prayer as they serve the USA (and the world).

Monday, October 27, 2008

Historians For Obama

History News Network:

Our country is in serious trouble. The gap between the wealthy elite and the working majority grows ever larger, tens of millions of Americans lack health insurance and others risk bankruptcy when they get seriously ill, and many public schools do a poor job of educating the next generation. Due to the arrogant, inept foreign policy of the current administration, more people abroad mistrust and fear the United States than at any time since the height of the Vietnam War. Meanwhile, global warming speeds toward an unprecedented catastrophe. Many Republicans and overwhelming numbers of Independents and Democrats believe that, under George W. Bush, the nation has badly lost its way. The 2008 election thus comes at a critical time in the history of the United States and the world.

We endorse Barack Obama for president because we think he is the candidate best able to address and start to solve these profound problems. As historians, we understand that no single individual, even a president, leads alone or outside a thick web of context. As Abraham Lincoln wrote to a friend during the Civil War, "I claim not to have controlled events, but confess plainly that events have controlled me." Read more>

Manan Ahmed, Leslie M. Alexander, Shawn Leigh Alexander, Catherine Allgor, Laura Anker, Joyce Appleby, Ray Arsenault, Andrew Bacevich, Robert Baker, Lewis V. Baldwin, Christopher Bates, Rosalyn Baxandall, Robert L. Beisner, Doron Ben-Atar, Jonathan P. Berkey, William C. Berman, David Blight, Ruth Bloch, Daniel Bluestone, Edward J. Blum, Kevin Boyle, John L. Brooke, Carolyn A. Brown, Mari Jo Buhle, Paul Buhle, Jodi Campbell, Randolph Campbell, Gregg Cantrell, Charles Capper, Clayborne Carson, Derek Catsam, Herrick Chapman, John Chavez, Lizabeth Cohen, William Cohen, Dennis Cordell, Mary F. Corey, George Cotkin, Edward Countryman, Daniel W. Crofts, Robert Dallek, Adam Davis, David Brion Davis, Jared N. Day, David De Leon, John d'Entremont, Dennis C. Dickerson, Jacob H. Dorn, Bruce Dorsey, David Doyle, Jr., David V. Du Fault, W. Marvin Dulaney, Gretchen Cassel Eick, Carolyn Eisenberg, J. Michael Farmer, Michael Fellman, Antonio Feros, Peter Filene, Kenneth Fones-Wolf, William E. Forbath, Shannon Frystak, Matthew Gabriele, Lloyd Gardner, Sheldon Garon, David Gellman, James Gilbert, Mark T. Gilderhus, Toni Gilpin, Rebecca A. Goetz, David Goldfrank, Warren Goldstein, Linda Gordon, Anthony T. Grafton, Will Gravely, George N. Green, James Green, Sara M. Gregg, Robert Griffith, Michael Grossberg, James Grossman, Carol S. Gruber, Joshua Guild, Roland L. Guyotte, Steven Hahn, David Hall, Kenneth Hamilton, J. William Harris, Paul Harvey, Sam W. Haynes, Nancy A. Hewitt, Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham, Joan Hoff, Jonathan Holloway, Jeffrey Houghtby, Tera W. Hunter, Harold Hyman, Charles F. Irons, Maurice Jackson, Thomas F. Jackson, Lisa Jacobson, Hasan Kwame Jeffries, Randal Jelks, John Jentz, Benjamin H. Johnson, David A. Johnson, Robert KC Johnson, Jennifer M. Jones, Patrick D. Jones, Peniel E. Joseph, Michael Katz, Michael Kazin, Barry Keenan, Evelyn Fox Keller, Ari Kelman, Stephen Kern, Richard H. King, Tracy E. K'Meyer, Sarah Knott, Gary Kornblith, Carol Lasser, Melinda Lawson, Steven Lawson, Jackson Lears, Alan Lessoff, James M. Lindgren, Edward T. Linenthal, William A. Link, Leon Litwack, James Livingston, Paul K. Longmore, Ralph E. Luker, J. Fred MacDonald, Chandra Manning, Norman Markowitz, Jill Massino, Kevin Mattson, Jaclyn Maxwell, Martha May, Timothy Patrick McCarthy, Joseph A. McCartin, Robert S. McElvaine, Marjorie McLellan, Sally G. McMillen, James McPherson, Edward D. Melillo, John Merriman, Tony Michels, Christopher Morris, Walter Moss, Todd Moye, Joan Neuberger, Serena L. Newman, Michelle Nickerson, David O'Brien, Leslie S. Offutt, William L. O'Neill, Jeff Pasley, William A. Pencak, Claire Potter, Gyan Prakash, Michael Punke, David Quigley, Stephen G. Rabe, Albert J. Raboteau, Monica A. Rankin, Marci Reaven, Jonathan Rees, Janice Reiff, Steven G. Reinhardt, Kimberly Reiter, Leo Ribuffo, Natalie J. Ring, Jerry Rodnitzky, Ruth Rosen, Peter Rothstein, Edward B. Rugemer, Douglas C. Sackman, Leonard J. Sadosky, Nick Salvatore, Brian Sandberg, John Savage, Martha Saxton, Ellen W. Schrecker, Michael J. Schroeder, Daryl M. Scott, Rachel F. Seidman, Brett L. Shadle, Rebecca Sharpless, James Sidbury, Daniel J. Singal, Manisha Sinha, Harvard Sitkoff, Gene Allen Smith, Daniel Soyer, Paul Spickard, Brian Steele, James Brewer Stewart, Jeffrey Stewart, Mary Stroll, David Thelen, Patricia Tilburg, Jeanne Maddox Toungara, Jeffrey Trask, Stephenie Ambrose Tubbs, Elizabeth Hayes Turner, Bruce M. Tyler, Kevin Uhalde, Siva Vaidhyanathan, Kara Dixon Vuic, David J. Weber, Barbara Weinstein, Richard Weiss, Kathleen Wellman, Daniel Wickberg, Craig Steven Wilder, Margaret Williams, R. Hal Williams, David W. Wills, Amy Woodson-Boulton, Charters Wynn, Susan Yohn, Eli Zaretsky, Michael Zuckerman and more>

No comments:

“The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.”- Franklin D. Roosevelt, elected president in 1932.